Why do we hate our own shapers so much?

What works & what doesn't and in what type of conditions. Got a "secret" only you and your shaper know???? Post it here... we can keep it quiet ;-)

Moderator: Moderator

PaulN
Ripper (more than 100 posts)

Why do we hate our own shapers so much?

Post by PaulN »

I have wanted to ask this question since I started riding kneeboards. Why, on this site is there so much angst directed toward what I have seen termed as the "typical American shaper” of kneeboards? That, as American kneelos, we are somewhat a step behind because of the lack of mainland shapers jumping on new design trends. What about Schoelkopf? What about Romo? Personally I have never ridden a Schoelkopf but people love them. Now Romo I have ridden pretty much every board he makes, and I love most of them, especially the quad fish. I understand that I am opening a can of worms here but..... I know Hart and Bud make nice boards (how could I not?), and I have ridden both, but is it not the archer in most cases, not the arrow? Just asking...
SCRUB IT KOOK!!!
john -
Legend (Contribution King!)

Post by john - »

ever tried hitting the target with a bent arrow :?:

just starting the can opener here :wink: :lol:
MWROBERTSON

Shaper

Post by MWROBERTSON »

Paul,

Good question but I think hate is a strong word. I can attest from personal experience that most guys/girls that I know are now riding overseas equipment due to design progression and the shapers openmindedness toward the surfers goals.

Enough cannot be said about what these guys are doing now. Certainly, Bud McCray-Blast,David Parkes-Parkes Friar Tuk, Rob Slater-Drift, Neil Luke-Island,Bruce Hart-Flash Point are all making state of the art equipment. Some of the best riders in the world are on their boards and keep pushing them OR they are pushing themselves for more performance.