Single fin?

What works & what doesn't and in what type of conditions. Got a "secret" only you and your shaper know???? Post it here... we can keep it quiet ;-)

Moderator: Moderator

ryan
Grom (25 or less posts to site)

Single fin?

Post by ryan »

I'm a young newbie to kneeling (been standing 4 years) and am very stoked so far. I kind of came into it by accident after I made myself an old Lis type 5'8 twin fin to surf stand up. Greenough being a hero of mine, I got the urge to kneel one day in some hollow 2-3' surf and was hooked.

So being very new and uninformed, I'm wondering if anyone uses single fins anymore? I understand they would not be as high performance as mutiple fin setups, but for good reeling waves with not much time to cut back?

Thanks for any info- ryan
Beeline2.0
Legend (Contribution King!)

Re: Single fin?

Post by Beeline2.0 »

Last edited by Beeline2.0 on Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
ryan

Multi-fins

Post by ryan »

Thanks Beeline. A question on multi-fins; Aren't they meant to be surfed from rail to rail to gain speed ala a stand up surfboard? Tighter turning and better hold are a given, but how is speed gained on a multi-fin kneeboard.

Just trying to gain insight. Thanks again- ryan
willli
Ripper (more than 100 posts)

Post by willli »

when a standup goes for speed in the critical part of the wave he centers his weight over the board and gets down low usually in some grab rail stance to transfer weight off his back foot....duh! the kneelo is always poised for speed and accelerates off the rails cause the tail isnt being used to keep the board underneath him. this all translates into barrel time. i surf with standups and nothing blows their minds more than an ankle breaking air drop into a barrel rail set fins sliding till they grab then boom...where'd he go? 10 yds later they get a glimpse of a kneelo on his way to a smile. 8)
Beeline2.0

Re: Multi-fins

Post by Beeline2.0 »