I'm in Love

What works & what doesn't and in what type of conditions. Got a "secret" only you and your shaper know???? Post it here... we can keep it quiet ;-)

Moderator: Moderator

Headwax.
Legend (Contribution King!)

I'm in Love

Post by Headwax. »

Warning: Incoherent Ramblings Ahead.

New board I got from Parkes a few months ago. Been meaning to make a post about it, because it's the best board I've ever had ............ And that’s saying something.:)

Firstly its another big concave board- this one is 15 mill at its max depth. The concave is nose to tail.

A little history: I've been riding boards with large concaves for quite a few years, first with fishes and now (for the last two boards at least) with rounded pins. Half the boards have been tris, the rest quads. And going farther back than that, my first large concave board was made by Steve Artis in circa 1975 from HB.

With the concaves I'm riding now they go extremely fast, but they are edgy, which means you need to pay attention when you are riding them. But the rewards, for me at least, have been well worthwhile.

The boards are edgy because 1: the rider has to be in tune with the board more so than normal. 2) the shape has to be perfect to keep the rail line out of the water.

There's no forgiveness if the board is too wide near the nose or the rocker rail line/ rail profile is a bit out. To illustrate: Consider the exact opposite is a complete veed bottom design which lifts the rail line higher to make sure it's far out of the water. But you lose speed, apparent planing area and the ability to ride as high in the wave (the vee bleeds water off the edge of the rail). But a vee'd board gives you an easy ride and allows the shaper more leeway if his rocker, rails etc are a little bit out.

Why are concaves good?

Easy….