Bottom contours

What works & what doesn't and in what type of conditions. Got a "secret" only you and your shaper know???? Post it here... we can keep it quiet ;-)

Moderator: Moderator

Bryn
Ripper (more than 100 posts)

Bottom contours

Post by Bryn »

I've been running the same basic contours on my boards for a couple of years now, rolled vee > single > double > vee. I love the set up but want to try something different. Keen to hear whats working for people and in what sort of conditions on a tri/thruster set up. Any suggestions??

Cheers
Bryn
red
Legend (Contribution King!)

Post by red »

roll with lifted rails in nose to
flat
to slight spiral vee between fins to
flat

Snapped the board I had with this bottom. Having too much fun on slightly bumpy 4' point break.

Been riding concaves since, but will cut me another flat bottomed board as soon as I can. They go good when concaves are struggling with chop.
Bryn

Post by Bryn »

Thanks red makes sense as I guess the flat gives a cleaner release to the bumps instead of trying to channel confused water down the board? Do you notice any detriment to paddling speed or release when taking off without lift from a concave further forward?
Angie
Local (More than 25 post)

Post by Angie »

Im using the good old single to double concave through the fins, ill ride anything from 2ft to 8ft with it. only thing that changes are the board dimensions, 6'0 through to 6'2.
Bryn

Post by Bryn »

Hi Angie yep same basic set up but I put a bit of rolled vee in the nose before the single starts and the double has a bit of vee in it through the fins. Interested to hear from any parkes tri riders with the full single concave with the double set within it at the fins and also any drift riders out there...

Successfully used reverse vee in a 6'2" pin tail for good waves but not really applicable to smaller stuff.