Cancer Screening

With the averge age of the kneeboarder these days this area should be used to post issues on health matters (surfer's ear, knee surgery, stretches, etc).

Moderator: Moderator

alfredo zavala
Legend (Contribution King!)

Cancer Screening

Post by alfredo zavala »

I am a radiation Therapist
I treat cancer patients with radiation for local control of cancer.
For a while I've thought about writing a post concerning the importance of early detection and cancer. specifically prostate cancer.
Willi's courageous post encouraged me to do so. As well as the recent news of musician Dan Fogleberg loss with his fight with prostate cancer.
Being that most of the people on this site are males and over 40 years old (or fast approaching there)I would like to STRONGLY encourage you guys to get yearly physicals!
When you get these physicals make sure your M.D. does a Digital Rectal Exam(DRE) if you're over 50(some say 40) or at least a P.S.A.(Prostate Specific Antigen) check on your blood work.
We as men are so blessed because prostate cancer ,as far as I know, is the ONLY cancer that shows up very early in your blood with this PSA marker!
If your PSA is elevated your doctor can then take the next simple step of a biopsy to confirm if cancer is there or not.
If there, prostate cancer grows very slowly and your chances of getting rid of it early is VERY GOOD!!
Likewise there are alot of options on how to treat it(I think radiation is the best route)
Big Picture: Don't avoid seeing your doctor yearly and make sure they are checking out your prostate with DRE's or PSA blood work.
And while you're at it. if you're 50 or over your doctor might want to consider a colonoscopy as well!
Getting old is a drag - I know!
This may be old info for some of you out there but I just thought it might help.
Oh yeah and like Willi said don't forget to have those strange things on your skin looked at too
Another hazard particular to our demographic!!