Out of Africa

General discussion area for kneeboard surfing and general surf related topics

Moderator: Moderator

southpeakbrad
Legend (Contribution King!)

Out of Africa

Post by southpeakbrad »

Just returned from a multiweek trip to South Africa providing training and mentoring for SA healthcare providers in the fight against HIV/AIDS.

Here's some updated stats on the epidemic in Sub Saharan Africa:
% of world's population: 10%
% of world's HIV/AIDS cases: 60%
Estimated new cases in 2005: 3.2 million
Estimated adult/child deaths in 2005: 2.4 million

For SA:
Population: ~47 million
HIV/AIDS cases: ~6-7 million
Orphans: over 1 million

I'm a Clinical Pharmacist and have worked with HIV/AIDS since late 80's. Our clinic at UCSD has partnered with Univ of Washington with funding from PEPFAR (President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief) through the Dept of Defense and CDC in this effort. Our Clinic is sending various providers (MD, Pharm.D, RN) to assist those on the front lines.

This specific effort is focused on the Eastern Cape home of the Wild Coast which is notorious for epic right handed points and dangerous sealife. What I saw took me back 15 years-the need is so great. There are some dedicated workers doing the best they can, often with limited resources. We were appreciated and felt we had valuable input everywhere we went.

Our second week we stayed in Port Edward at the southernmost edge of Kwazulu-Natal province and drove in to the small, rural EC towns each day . Ahh, offically sub-tropical but Tropical to me. It was lush, green, humid, warm, and rainy at times.