Speed!?

General discussion area for kneeboard surfing and general surf related topics

Moderator: Moderator

boards_and_fins
Local (More than 25 post)

Speed!?

Post by boards_and_fins »

So I am new to kneeboarding. I bought a board from Beeline and had it out this AM in ok surf. The main thing I have noticed is that I cannot generate speed. When you are stand up surfing you can pump, when bodysurfing you can kick, when kneeboarding do you just sit there? I was trying to get around sections and having a terrible time of it. I did notice that the takeoff angle is much more critical on a kneeboard then on a surfboard, at least right now. Any tips? Am I just an idiot who needs to wait for bigger surf? I will keep on trying though because riding this thing is fun.
skansand
Legend (Contribution King!)

hmmm

Post by skansand »

when i rode that board i could kinda-pump on it...just takes some time i suppose...its 6'3 and i can pump on my 6'2 easy now...just practice...get it in some real surf....i was just learning to ride a bigger board then....seriously if i had the money i woudve bought that board....you wouldnt have got the chance... :D /....also i found appliing pressure to the blast decal on the nose can get you through some of the sections...looks funny though
Tide is the master, tide can be a disaster...-Dub side of the Moon
Beeline2.0

Post by Beeline2.0 »

Last edited by Beeline2.0 on Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
albert

Post by albert »

I agree that the fin setup is very critical for beginners.

Did you feel the board was sluggish when comming off the bottom to the open face? If so, then your fin setup is set a little too loose for you, in which case I suggest putting bigger fins on it, even if it feels too tight for you once you get on the open face (at least at that point you will have gotten the hang of getting speed).