Paddle vs. Kick (fins)

General discussion area for kneeboard surfing and general surf related topics

Moderator: Moderator

MIK911
Ripper (more than 100 posts)

Paddle vs. Kick (fins)

Post by MIK911 »

I'm new to this game, and was wondering what the concensus is. I've found that i can either kick or paddle, but can't do both efficiently at the same time. My position on the board allows me to paddle (more forward on the board), but then my legs are too far forward to exert a decent kick.
So i was wondering what most kneelo's do? and why?

As far as wave catching ability (kicking better to get in early?), it seems that catching a wave late, that kicking isn't necessary, and a few paddle strokes is all that's needed.

So what do you guys do?
thanks
boards_and_fins
Local (More than 25 post)

Post by boards_and_fins »

I think it comes from what your surfing backaround is. I come from surfing shortboards so I am more of a paddle for the wave and flutter kick in kind of guy. Now I know a guy who has never stood up on a board and he is all kicking, sometimes uses one arm to paddle even, but 99% of his power comes from the fins. Then there are the kneelos who dont wear fins. I guess its all about what works for you. All I know is that with pretty short fins I can catch pretty much anything coming my way. :lol:
your mom goes to college
WillP

Post by WillP »

I think you should paddle in whichever fashion feels comfortable to you.
Last edited by WillP on Fri Aug 11, 2006 4:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
KAVA
Legend (Contribution King!)

Post by KAVA »

Initially I tend to lazily kick to get to the outside heh heh! then 75% paddle and 25% kick to catch the wave. when there is a big Outside set coming in and im in the boneyards? i tend to put 100% into both :shock: lol whatever it takes to not get beat down on! :roll: lol Ilike fins/flippers for balance 8)
"Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air… "
-Ralph Waldo Emerson