Some questions

General discussion area for kneeboard surfing and general surf related topics

Moderator: Moderator

jimithesaint
Local (More than 25 post)

Some questions

Post by jimithesaint »

I am just getting into KBing after standup surfing for 30 years - and I have some basic questions on techinques. I apologize if they sound stupid, I don't have many KBers around to bounce them off of

I had a chance to ride the KB I picked up a couple times this weekend- less than optimal conditions 3-5ft 15mph onshores, sloppy. But at least I finally got it in the water- it has been flat on the East Coast.

1) my feet were hurting/cramping while riding , I think it was due to sitting down on my feet. Has anyone had this experience?
2) I wore fins and they seemed to help getting out , but getting the board balanced so I could catch waves I didn't really feel comfortable trying to kick. Do most guys not use them for catching waves(ie just arm paddle in). This might be a board length/body length thing (I'm 5'8"/ board is 6'0")

Any general (or specific) advice beyond keep trying and see what works ? Just trying to shorten up my learning curve

Thanks for any help
Jim N
albert
Legend (Contribution King!)

Re: Some questions

Post by albert »

jimithesaint wrote: 1) my feet were hurting/cramping while riding , I think it was due to sitting down on my feet. Has anyone had this experience?
my advice... dont sit on your feet. Even if your feet dont cause you pain its only going to slow you down. Lean your head and torso forward, kneel a little further back on the board and it should compensate for your center of gravity by giving it a bit more flexibility.
jimithesaint wrote: 2) I wore fins and they seemed to help getting out , but getting the board balanced so I could catch waves I didn't really feel comfortable trying to kick. Do most guys not use them for catching waves(ie just arm paddle in). This might be a board length/body length thing (I'm 5'8"/ board is 6'0")